Skip to main content

Collone YFC Crowned Young Farmers’ Clubs of Ulster Club of the Year

Image ALT text

(L-R) Winners Collone YFC Ian Walker and Matthew Livingstone with Amy Bennington from sponsor Power NI, and YFCU President Zita McNaugher.

At the recent Young Farmers’ Clubs of Ulster (YFCU) AGM and Conference, sponsored by Massey Ferguson, the Association’s most eagerly awaited competition took place.

Five clubs made it through to the final of the Club of the Year competition: City of Derry YFC, Collone YFC, Finvoy YFC, Holestone YFC, and Lisnamurrican YFC. They then took part in a quiz on YFCU current affairs. After a nervous wait, Collone YFC was announced as winners and received the Club of the Year trophy!

Matthew Livingstone, Club Leader at Collone YFC said: "We are absolutely delighted to have won the YFCU Club of the Year. This is a great achievement for the club especially as this is our 75th anniversary year. It just goes to show the hard work and dedication of all our members really has paid off. Onwards and upwards for Collone YFC."

The prestigious Club of the year was once again sponsored by Power NI, "We were delighted to return as sponsor for the Club of the Year competition, and a big congratulations to this year’s worthy winners, Collone YFC. Power NI has always proudly supported the local farming sector and we look forward to an exciting anniversary year with YFCU", commented Amy Bennington, Commercial Marketing Manager, Power NI.

New YFCU President, Zita McNaugher, remarked: "After a nail biting final quiz stage, Collone YFC was announced as the Club of the Year. This is a fantastic accolade for the club who have worked very hard, encouraged members to participate and worked together as a team. The club fully embraced the theme of ‘embracing change’. I’d also like to thank the sponsor of the competition, Power NI. Their support is very much appreciated."

Latest news